To tentatively delineate the boundaries of the 4 barangays of the Municipality of Malungon, a meeting and presentation of the initial map of the barangay boundaries was conducted by the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Region XII through the Surveys and Mapping Division (SMD) on March 17, 2021 at Villa Amor Hotel, Koronadal City.
Barangay Talus, Barangay Kawayan, Barangay Banate and Barangay Malalag Cogon, all in the Municipality of Malungon, were chosen by the department as pilot sites for the conduct of political boundary survey this Calendar Year 2021.
In his message, Regional Executive Director (RED) Atty. Felix S. Alicer said that the activity aims to determine the metes and bounds of the barangays.
“You cannot manage what you cannot measure”, Alicer said.
He also added that the DENR XII will not pinpoint and establish the boundaries but will guide and assist the Local Government Unit (LGU) to identify its barangay borders.
On the other hand, Malungon Local Chief Executive, Hon. Ma. Theresa D. Constantino has expressed her gratitude to the DENR XII for giving the much-needed assistance and made sure that the DENR will have the support of the LGU.
“To the Malungon barangay captains who are present today, let us be with the DENR in this endeavor. Let us not waste the assistance and the resources provided by the government for this survey”, Constantino said.
The primary vision for the conduct of the political boundary survey is for the subsequent establishment of Barangay Boundary Monuments (BBMs) in the said areas.
In attendance are the Regional Office Key Officials namely Assistant Regional Director Engr. Mama G. Samaon, Provincial/Community Environment and Natural Resources Officers of Sarangani and Glan, Renato Domingo and Dr. Rosalinda B. Cortez respectively, SMD chief Francisco C. Mancera, and Malungon LGU Officials Vice Mayor Mariano Escalada, Jr., Sangguniang Bayan Members, Barangay Chairpersons of Malungon and Key LGU officials. | PKFarrol (Photos by: Datu Yasser I. Balindong)