CITY OF KORONADAL - Fourteen barangay local government units (BLGUs) in Region 12 will receive a financial assistance from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) through the Environmental Management Bureau (EMB) for the establishment of Material Recovery Facility (MRF) in their respective areas.

This was disclosed during the signing of Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) between the DENR, EMB and BLGUs together with their respective Municipal/City ENR Officers on September 12 in Koronadal City.

Donna Mayor-Gordove, CESO IV, DENR 12 Assistant Regional Director for Management Services said that the solid waste management (SWM) is one of the priority programs of the DENR under the leadership of Secretary Roy A. Cimatu.

"The implementation of SWM is not easy. The DENR and EMB are here to provide technical assistance to LGUs and barangays who are the primary responsible in sanitation and solid waste matters," ARD Gordove said.

According to Engr. Ronnie L. Salmon, EMB 12 Chief of Environmental Monitoring and Enforcement Division, the project is part of the ongoing technical and financial assistance being extended by the DENR through the EMB 12 in support to Republic Act (RA) 9003 or the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000.

The MRF is required to every barangay or cluster of barangays to recover recyclable materials and process biodegradable wastes as required by the RA 9003.

The recipients of the financial assistance were Sangay and Sta. Clara in Kalamansig, Matiompong in Lambayong, San Pablo in Tacurong CIty, Cabaruyan and Poblacion of Libungan, Bagontapay and Bialong in Mlang, Mahongkog in Magpet, New Cebu in President Roxas, Lamdalag of Lake Sebu, Kabican in Maasim, Gumasa of Glan and Maguling in Maitum. ###